Interview with a newly made fitness rockstar: Kim Gradoville

kimbaWhat are your long term fitness goals?  How far have you come?

My long term goal was to lose 85 pounds.  As a competitive tennis player I also wanted to increase my strength and quickness to get better results on the court.  To date I have lost about 53 pounds, with 43 of it as a client at DeVetter Fitness.  In addition to this I have lost 4 pants sizes and inches all over!  I feel and look like a new person.

What motivated you to call DeVetter Fitness and get serious about your goals?

I lost my mother to breast cancer over Labor Day this past year.  She always wanted me to be healthier and reduce my risk of getting the disease myself.  Being overweight is one of the highest risk factors for this type of cancer.  I have been “trying” to lose weight for a long time, but wasn’t seeing the results.  I felt like I owed it to her and to myself to make the changes that I needed.  I knew that I needed more accountability to push myself.  My best friend had success with their programs, so I thought I would give it a try and signed up for a 3-week program to try it out.

How have you changed during the process of this health and fitness journey that you are on?

The physical results are obvious.  However, there is so much more than that.  I am much more confident and handle stress much better than I have in the past.  With a busy job teaching and coaching, I have always struggled to find time to do things for myself like exercise.  Now I look forward to boot camp, even at 6 AM.  And I am NOT a morning person.  I’m still busy, but I take the time to plan for it.  I have healthy food on hand, and know which choices are good for me if I need to eat on the run.

What have been the 3 most important things that have helped you with your success?

1.  Honestly tracking my food using MyFitnessPal

2.  Regularly attending boot camp

3.  Getting information from the training staff at DeVetter when I have struggled or had questions along the way.

4.  Using both measurements AND the scale to measure success.  My measurements changed much quicker than the scale did.

What is your favorite exercise?

Tennis would be my favorite for cardio.  At boot camp it is the speed ladder!

What is your favorite healthy food and favorite cheat item?

My favorite healthy foods are Quest bars (especially the cookie dough kind).  They satisfy the urge for sweet foods and I don’t crave candy and other things that I used to eat.  My favorite and most often used cheats are adult beverages and sushi.  Now they are even more enjoyable because I save up for them and really enjoy them when I have them.

What tips do you have for any one has goals of losing 30, 40, 50 pounds or more?

1.  Set small goals along the way and celebrate each milestone with a new pair of jeans or piece of clothing that really fits you.  Get rid of what’s too big other than an item to remind you how far you have come.

2.  If you have a bad day or week on the scale, look at what went wrong and how you can do better.  But, don’t beat yourself up.  Celebrate what you did right and learn how to do better the next time.

3.  Own your success.  Look at photos of your old self.  Celebrate the new person that you see in the mirror.  When you get compliments, thank the person and tell them that you’ve been working hard.

4.  It’s OK to celebrate the milestones, but stick to your goals.

About devetter

I am a fitness coach in Omaha, NE who loves to help people achieve their health and fitness goals
This entry was posted in Success Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with a newly made fitness rockstar: Kim Gradoville

  1. Daa says:

    Awesome work, Kim!

  2. What an inspiring story! She looks absolutely great and positively glowing in the after photo!

Leave a Reply

